Weekly Favorites

Ahoy! Yes, tis’ Tuesday again!

My first favorite this week is,

1. Frittatas

frittata

Mm mm mm mmmm! I made one last night- because the only protein I had in my house were eggs- and it was delicious! I made it Mediterranean-style with olives, feta cheese, onions, garlic, and green peppers. It was the first one I’ve ever made and it was amazing. Simply, amazing.

2. Donuts (In honor of the FDA threatening to ban trans fats)ban

For real, I never used to like donuts- I thought they were worthless, overly sweet and fattening, breakfast items. But now… I love them. Although, I still don’t understand how the hell you could eat one for breakfast and survive your day.

cinnamon-sugar-doughnuts

I eat them as dessert. And you know who makes the best donuts in Chicago?

Beavers!

beavers-donuts-e1338310923217

Moving on from food items (only momentarily) is,

3. Ralph Waldo Emerson

Emerson

This guy has some of the best quotes I’ve ever seen. In the past week, a friend of mine has been sharing them with me, so he made the weekly favorites list.

“It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude.”

“Always do what you are afraid to do.”

“Is it so bad, then, to be misunderstood? Pythagoras was misunderstood, and Socrates, and Jesus, and Luther, and Copernicus, and Galileo, and Newton, and every pure and wise spirit that ever took flesh. To be great is to be misunderstood.”

“Dare to live the life you have dreamed for yourself. Go forward and make your dreams come true.”

Um, yeah, if you ever need a little inspiration, go read some Emerson.

Aaaanndddd back to food,

4. Pumpkin-spice coffee creamer

coffee

I have to do everything in my power to live out this wonderful pumpkin phase I’m in (until December). And even though pumpkin spice creamer has a ton of sugar, and I’m pretty sure it’s not even real cream, it’s delicious.

It’s like having pumpkin pie-flavored coffee in the morning.

5. Reason Magazine

reason-magazine

Okay, I’ve liked Reason for a long time now, but recently I’ve been paying attention to them again. Check out their newest issue here.

Reason Mag

I guess this was a “food” week. You know winter’s coming when…

Have a great week! Stay warm- unless you live in Florida- then screw you.

Jk.

Bye.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Favorites

  1. Love it, all yummy stuff! And RWE is my favorite also! “Make the most of yourself for that is all there is of you”! So love tuesdays and your weekly faves!

Leave a Reply

